h1

Dee-licious!

January 14, 2009

Taco Salad

taco salad 1

There’s one thing that will make any day seem like a better day, at least in my world.  I could have a terrible day at work, traffic is a mess on the way home, I could even trip walking in the door (that happens more than I would like to admit) and yet there is still the one shining light at the end of the tunnel that makes it all worth it, (my husband is great too!) but in this context it would be: taco salad.

Everyone makes their version of taco salad differently, at least that’s what I’ve come to learn in my travels (which, aren’t very extensive, but I have friends in California, does that count?).  This is one of our standby meals if we can’t decide what to cook, as long as we have the ingredients (we usually do) because it’s pretty quick and easy to make.  So here is how we do things in my neck of the woods, as it were.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. ground beef (or turkey, or meat of choice really I guess)
  • 1 small onion (I usually only use half, but it’s a matter of taste)
  • taco seasoning (more on this later)
  • 1 16.5 oz. can Bush’s baked beans
  • lettuce
  • carrots
  • celery
  • sour cream
  • salsa
  • shredded cheese (we use cheddar)

First, chop the onion (or onion half in my case) and start to cook it on about medium heat.  Once it starts to brown a little, add the hamburger, and then cook until the hamburger is browned.  Then add your taco seasoning, (I use a recipe I got from my friend April’s blog, and she said she originally found it on allrecipes.com) I used about 2 1/2 tablespoons, but it really is a matter of taste.  Also add the can of Bush’s baked beans (these add a nice flavor to the taco meat, and also make it go a little further).  Mix this together and let it simmer  for a while until the seasoning has set in and it has thickened, then it is ready to be put in salad (or tacos, if you prefer).

Meanwhile, cut up your lettuce, some carrots and also celery to go into the salad.  I like to layer my salad with the lettuce, hamburger, cheese, salsa, then a little bit of sour cream, mix it all together, and then crumble some tortilla chips in it to add a nice crunch (Doritos work too).

For those of you who like step-by-step photos, I tried my hand at it this time.

onion hamburger seasoning
taco salad

The leftovers make a pretty awesome lunch too!

Taco Seasoning

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • Directions

    In a small bowl, mix together chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper flakes, oregano, paprika, cumin, salt and pepper. Store in an airtight container.

    This makes 10 servings.  I used 2 tablespoons (give or take) in my taco meat.

    Also, if I might be so bold as to recommend a salsa, we came across this by accident, but we LOVE it!

    It’s Eat smart Garden Style Sweet Salsa!  It’s in the organic section at our grocery store, it’s all-natural (which you can tell because one jar to the next never tastes EXACTLY the same) fat free, and only 5 grams of carbs per serving…which I guess is relatively healthy in small quantities, which is even more awesome!  If you can find it, you should try it!

    2 comments

    1. I love tacos too! I’ve started adding corn to mine and my mom introduced me to multi-grain tortilla chips over Christmas. They aren’t any healthier but they are very yummy 🙂


    2. Jordan wants tacos tonight! May have to make this to go along with it.



    Leave a Reply

