h1

Chocolate cake

February 4, 2009

So, some of you may know that I’ve recently gotten the urge to learn how to decorate cakes.  I’m not really sure where this has come from, but perhaps it is a combination of “all my friends are doing it” aka peer pressure, and the fact that my mom did cake decorating for years.

For Christmas I got some really cool cake decorating stuff, and this past weekend I finally got a chance to try it out… just a little bit.

Now, I know that many people out there are incredibly against boxed cake mixes, but, well, I’m not one of them.  So my cake was a boxed mix, but it was my mom’s chocolate icing recipe, which is FANTASTIC!  I would share it here, but I’m not sure that she’d like that, since it’s sort of her “secret recipe.”

She did tell me how to line my pans though, that it makes it easier to get the cakes out of the pans etc.  So I greased the pans with Crisco as instructed, and lined them with waxed paper. 🙂

img_0156 img_0157

Anyhow, I need a LOT more practice with icing a cake, and decorating it too, but for my very first cake attempt, with no instruction whatsoever, I thought that I did alright.  You probably want to see a photo of the cake now, don’t you?  Alright, alright, calm down.  Here goes:

img_0159

I thought that the inside of the cake looked pretty neat once we cut it.

img_0173It also got rave reviews!  I took it to my parent’s house for dinner.  We had a huge get together (11 of us total) and everyone loved it.  There was a lot of “this is really good” which you’d have to imagine being spoken through a mouthful of cake, because that’s how it was. 🙂  For my first attempt ever, I don’t feel too badly about it.  I since have figured out how to do shells.  I think I’m just going to make a batch of icing one night to practice with.  That’s the only way I’ll learn right?

5 comments

  1. Looks awesome Julie!!!


  2. Julie,
    It looks so yummy!! 🙂 Well done, I’m not so good with cakes myself


  3. Looks so goood! I’m really really hungry for chocolate cake now!!


  4. It’s often hard to decorate with chocolate frosting but you did a great job. Your marbling looks great too!


  5. Mmmm… cake! Didn’t know your mom use to do cakes. Very cool. I think your cake looks great! Have you thought about taking the Wilton cake class?
    /Clara



Leave a Reply

