h1

Dinner for one… plus lunch

March 7, 2009

My husband has been doing a lot of traveling for work recently.  I, for one, find it somewhat difficult to cook a healthy dinner for myself.  It’s so much easier to just shrug it off and have something like, breakfast for dinner, soup and sandwich etc.

Well, on his last trip I made something that I thought was pretty quick and easy that I sort of just threw together last minute.  I should preface this by saying that I am not against seasoning packets or sometimes canned sauces etc.  Let’s face it, I don’t have time to cook a full meal from scratch EVERY night.  So we keep a few things around to make it easier.  Sometimes after we’ve used some of these things we’ll figure it out on our own, or experiment, but Alfredo sauce is something I haven’t quite got figured out yet.

Back to my dinner.  I was at a loss for what to make but decided on rotini with Alfredo.  (I always try to keep some sort of pasta around for just this type of quick meal.)  In order to have more than just pasta, I decided to add chicken and lots of broccoli.  How about that?  Chicken and broccoli alfredo!  I cooked a cubed chicken breast with some Italian seasonings, cooked some broccoli, cooked my pasta, and the sauce according to package directions, mixed them all together, and VOILA!   Dinner for one with leftovers for lunch.  ENJOY!

+ +
+

=

img_01741

One comment

  1. I never liked cooking just for me either. My eating habits were so bad before I got married. I’m definitely not opposed to packets or jars for some things either, but they are getting harder for me to use because of the ingredients they hide inside. HF corn syrup, msg, & gluten seem to be in nearly everything. To get the versions without is way expensive, so I’ve just given up on a few things. I love chicken/broccoli/alfredo. Yum.



Leave a Reply

