h1

Elusive silver shoes

March 25, 2009

So, I’m going to be in a wedding in April.  I’ll be the matron of honor.

I am excited for my friend who is getting married and pray for her a happy marriage.

However, there is this small problem: shoes.

She is being awesome as far as accessories go.  She picked out the dresses for us to get, but as far as shoes, she simply said, “silver.”  I’m thinking, “Alright, this should be easy,” and then I remember how difficult it is to find shoes for my huge feet.  Shoe shopping is one thing in this world that I truly almost detest… it’s just not fun for me.  I’m not the kind of person that can walk into a shoe store, see a pair of shoes they like, try on said pair in their size and take it home.  It is NEVER that easy for me.  That being said, I think I have tried to find silver shoes at every store in this area… seriously.

They either don’t have them in my size at all… if they do, they are too small, or, they are something like this:

Now, if you love those shoes right there, that’s great.  For me though, there are MANY things wrong with them.  First of all, I don’t think that the human foot was meant to bend quite like that, especially not for any length of time!  If in fact it WAS meant to bend that way, I think it should have a little more stable support system.  Look at your foot (go on, look) your heel is the width of your foot, so why shouldn’t the heel of your shoe be!  I do not understand skinny or spike heels, sorry, I can not deal.  Besides, to top off my other complaints about shoes like those above, I am 5′ 10″ tall… the friend who is getting married, while I don’t know her actual height, she’s about 5′ 4″ tall… I’m already going to be towering over a good portion of the wedding party, I don’t need 4″ heels to make me over 6′!

So, what I’m looking for and failing to find, is a pair of silver shoes, with a short wide heel, preferably with straps around the ankles so I don’t feel like I’m going to fall.  Did I mention that there will be stairs involved… yes… there’s that too.  Also, is it too much to ask that I can find said pair of shoes for under $40 or so?

I am probably only going to wear these shoes this once, so it would be great not to have to spend a small fortune on them, being that I’ve already bought the dress, need to buy undergarments etc… not to mention wedding and shower gifts and whatnot.

This wasn’t intended to be a rant… but I guess it has sort of turned out that way.  I just don’t think my demands are too insane.

Affordable and semi-comfortable  silver shoes, where are you?!?

2 comments

  1. Just saying … I’ve offered my $0.02 … 🙂


  2. […] it’s actually to just a few weeks ago.  Some of you may remember that I was on the hunt for silver shoes, and could not find […]



Leave a Reply

