h1

Amish Friendship Bread

April 9, 2009

Last Thursday at the church life group my husband and I attend, one of the leaders had made Amish Friendship bread.  I had never had it before, but it’s quite tasty!  I don’t really think that it’s “Amish” though… somehow the vanilla pudding gives that away.  Regardless, it has the friendship sharing aspect, so I’m giving it a try.

As we were talking about the bread, she told us that she had starters that we could take to make our own.  This was new to me and I was a little worried about it… but the best part I saw in the recipe was that for almost all of the 10 days in making, all I had to do was “mush the bag.”  That, I figured I could handle.

The recipe for after you have a starter is as follows:

day 1:
Do nothing with the starter.
days 2-5:
Mush the bag.
day 6:
Add 1 cup flour, 1 cup sugar, and 1 cup milk.  Mush the bag.
days 7-9:
Mush the bag.
Day 10:
Add 1 cup flour, 1 cup sugar and 1 cup milk.  Stir. Take out 3 cups and place 1 cup each into three separate plastic bags. Give one cup and a copy of this recipe to three friends. To the balance (a little over one cup) of the batter, add the following ingredients and mix well.

1 cup oil
1/2 cup milk
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla

In a separate bowl combine the following dry ingredients and mix well:

2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1-1/2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 – (5.1 oz) box instant vanilla pudding
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup nuts

Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients. Mix and pour into two well greased and sugared bread pans. Bake at 325 degrees for 1 hour.

(At least that’s the recipe I found online, not positive it’s the exact one I have at home.)

What’s great about the timing of when I got this starter, is that it will be Easter bread!  I’m excited to make it by the original recipe, and maybe I will keep one of the starters from this batch to try some variations in another 10 days. 🙂

One comment

  1. Yum, Amish friendship bread is one of my absolute favorites!!



Leave a Reply

