h1

Course 1 – Class 4 (FINAL!)

April 30, 2009

Woo hoo!  The last class of Wilton Course 1 Cake decorating was this week.  Wow this month has flown by!

Monday night was it: the final… the Wilton rose cake (EEEE!).

Roses scare me, after class… they still scare me.  I know that it’s something  more practice etc will cure, but Monday night was rough!  The worst part was that the class as a whole had some SERIOUS icing consistency issues.  It wasn’t that we didn’t make our icing correctly, more a combination of it being about 93° outside, hot and sticky in the room, and our hands warming the icing bags that we were working with.  All of those things combined made our icing not quite as stiff as it was supposed to be.  Some people actually resorted to putting their icing in the freezer there for a while to try and fix the problem!  However, even with all those things going against me, I’m kind of proud of the finished product.  I give you: my final Course 1 rose cake!

cake-032

I decided to have a little fun with my loads of leftover yellow icing (which I still have some leftover and am planning on decorating sugar cookies with it soon).

cake-037

Sorry the lighting isn’t better in these photos… I’m still working on that.  If I use the flash the whole cake is whited out, if I don’t, it’s sort of gray.  I just haven’t taken the time to fix them in photo shop recently, but you get the general idea, right?

And finally: the yummy goodness inside!

cake-040

I can honestly say that this is the best cake I’ve made so far, by a lot!  It’s butter yellow cake, chocolate filling, and instead of using vanilla in the icing, I used almond extract and it is DELICIOUS!  My husband wouldn’t even let either of us take it to work.  He said, “We definitely don’t need to eat that whole cake, but we sure can eat half of it!”  I think that means that he likes it! 😀

Now I just need to sign up for Course 2, which starts next week.  That’s so soon!

4 comments

  1. Gorgeous! And pretty impressive, too … I’m jealous!


  2. Wow! I really like the yellow squiggles – they are so happy! 🙂


  3. I think your roses look pretty darn good for being melty!


  4. I love this cake! It is so fun and happy. I love the idea of almond extract in the icing to.



Leave a Reply

