h1

Course 3 – Classes 1, 2 & 3

June 18, 2009

In the first class of Course 3 we brought in buttercream to practice the ruffle border (which I really liked!) and string work, and some other different techniques.   We also learned how to make the centers for fondant roses.  Fondant is great. I really didn’t think it would be, and thought it would be very difficult, but it’s sort of like playing with play dough.  That’s not to say that it’s 100% easy, but I did enjoy working with it more that I thought I would.

So, without further stalling, here’s my cake!

IMG_0615

IMG_0616

IMG_0617

If it looks shimmery in the photo that’s because we got to use luster dust, which is so pretty!  It was a french vanilla cake with raspberry filling and almond  butter cream icing.  Unfortunately I only got one bite of it because my husband took it to work, and I never actually managed to get a slice after he brought the last little sliver of it home.  He said his coworkers mostly devoured it though!  If he had let them they would have eaten the whole thing!  In fact, one of his coworkers wanted to know if I could make them a cake for someone’s birthday that weekend, which I would have gladly done.  However I was out of town for the weekend so I couldn’t do it.  I was so flattered though!

Class 3 was last night, and we learned how to make lilies, poinsettias, petunias, and morning glories.  To say the least, mine need practice… LOTS of practice.  The only ones I was even a little bit proud of were the lily and the morning glory.  The rest I threw away.  I may or may not take photos of the ones I kept, but they are not as easy as one might think.  I’m not sure they’ll be going on cakes any time soon!

7 comments

  1. I really love your bow – it looks so pretty!

    I’m kind of excited to make the lily flowers… I’m debating putting some on the last cake with roses if they turn out well enough.


  2. Oooh, luster dust IS fun. I have found all sorts of fun things to do with the brush on stuff. It’s tedious but worth it. I like your thin fondant spirals especially.


  3. Love it … so beautiful. I do want one. 🙂


  4. That cake is awesome!!! I wish that I could decorate like that!!!


  5. I love the little curls! Your cake class posts are great – I love seeing all the different cakes you get to do, and they always turn out so nice.


  6. Oh wow I’m loving the curly ribbons!!! I want to take one of these classes so bad. Not sure I have the patience though…


    • Aww, thanks ladies! You’re all so sweet.



Leave a Reply

