h1

A Happy Birthday Cake

December 15, 2009

I made this cake for my cousin Sara’s 10th birthday in September.

She was our flower girl when we got married in 2007.  I can’t believe how fast time flies!

I got the idea from a few examples I found online (I would give credit, but I have no idea where I got the inspiration anymore) but I thank them, because she was ecstatic when she saw the cake!  She wanted to take photos and show all her friends, so I guess it turned out okay.

This was one of my first attempts using home made fondant, and I think it turned out rather well.  I just want some more opportunities to work on my skills!  I can’t make a cake for us every week, I need to have excuses!

3 comments

  1. Hi there! Thanks for stopping by. That cake is absolutely adorable. I have to admit I’m too much of a chicken to try using fondant yet.


    • Thanks! You should totally try fondant, aside from covering a cake, it’s like playing with play dough, and who doesn’t love that?


  2. I like it! I also haven’t had much of a chance to play with cakes lately as school has leached most of my time away. I might try to do something during the Christmas holidays….



Leave a Reply

